So I've decided it's time to get new pickups for my Strat since the guy who owned it before me installed his own and totally f-d up the wiring. It sounds fine, but (normally positions 2 and 4 on th toggle will give you slight hum-cancelling) there is no hum-cancelling whatsoever and excessive buzzing. I could really care less about the brand, but I want to keep the same bluesy, classic fender tone, although it would be nice if they could handle a decent amount of distortion and fuzz. I am looking to spend no more than $100 per pickup. Any suggestions?
It's not that he buggered up the wiring, it just means his middle pickup wasn't reverse wound/reverse polarity.

What's your current rig? and what don't you like about the current pups (apart from hum)
Fender Highway 1 Strat
Agile Septor Pro 725

Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
Axe-Fx Ultra

Trust me, I'm a medical student
I suggest some dimarzio hs-3s their hum canceling and still have a classic strat tone...or try a dimarzio area pickup they have several different kinds I use the 58 in the middle and the 61 in the neck....
Fender 70s Ri Strats w/various Dimarzios
Modded 1982 Marshall JCM800 2203

Boss DS-1,Dunlop Crybaby,MXR Phase 90,Ibanez AD9,Boss CH-1

Check out randy dobsons underground ,tell me what you think
If there is more noise/hum in positions 2 and 4 there is some kind wiring problem, probably in the switch. If its the same, then its the middle pickup like Ratfish said.
Oh right, looks like i missed the bit about "excessive buzzing". Wiring really isn't that complicated, take it apart and see what's wrong.

Either way, my original questions still stand
Fender Highway 1 Strat
Agile Septor Pro 725

Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
Axe-Fx Ultra