Like the title says:
I want to repair an old Marshall lead 12.
I've taken it apart, and I've done some "research" to find where the problem lies.
There seems to be a bad contact with the buttons "Volume" and "Gain".
Is there something I can do about it?
Are you certain this is where the problem is? How do you know those controls are bad? Do they make a "scratch" noise when rotated? Are they totally inop? I'm an electronics tech - tell me more. Let's fix this thing.
Well, it's like you said. When I rotate the knobs I hear scratch noise and sometimes there's only noise and no guitar sound.
Cool. This is a relatively easy fix. As long as the controls aren't physically damaged, it's possible to repair this amp. Do you have a Guitar Center nearby? If so, you're going to need to purchase some Caig CaiLube MCL. It comes in a small spray can. You'll need to gain access to the inside of the chassis, so you'll have to disassemble the amp. When you get it apart, examine the back side of the pots. That's just a fancy word for control. "Pot" is short for potentiometer, or variable resistor. Most pots have small, metal cans around them. This protects them from dust, which would also cause the scratchy sound you're hearing. Most of the time, these cans will have small holes in them, which are located on the side or top of the can. The bottom of the pot will definitely have a hole for the 3 leads to exit. Chances are, you won't be able to get to those. What we need to do, is spray some of the CaiLube into one or all of the holes. The CaiLube cleans and lubricates the pot's wiper and resistive substrate. You don't need to spray a whole bunch into the pot - just enough to get the inside wet, wash away the worn stuff and lubricate it. You can use a kitchen wipe to clean up any that gets on the circuit card, or anwhere else you don't want it. Do not use WD40. It will only attract dust and become gummy after a short while.