So after playing with and talking to a bunch of people over the past few weeks, I've started to realize my rig does not suit me. I get decent tone I suppose, but I want the tone in my head to come out of the speakers.

So I've crunched some numbers and if I sell my current amp/effect setup and use some savings, I've got around $1000 dollars for an amp and possibly effects. I want an amp that's low wattage (<50 watts) for small gigs, but lots of studio use.

The tones I want to nail? First off I want that Vox AC30 chime. I love that sparkle with the light distortion, like U2 and Angels and Airwaves and 30 Seconds to Mars.

On top of that I also play a lot of post-hardcore music like Chiodos, Enarosa, Isles & glaciers, OM&M and really want to get guitar tones like that too.

I've considered a Vox AC30. Ever since I started playing guitar I've dreamed of owning one. But I don't know if it can do the heavier stuff. I'd be more than willin to buy a distortion pedal if it sounded good with the Vox.

Life's too short for shit tone. Help me nail some great tones. Thanks!
Ibanez RGT42DX
Vox AC30C2
Digitech Whammy (FOR SALE!)
Dunlop GCB-95F Crybaby
Boss DD-20
Boss SD-1
Ibanez TS9DX
MXR M-108 10 Band EQ
Quote by jscott1324
have you looked into a vypyr tube 60, i have one and it sounds great on low volumes and even better when its cranked you can get just about any tone you want out of it

He has already Peavey Valveking 112 if it's true...So I don't really see why a pyvyr tube 60.. Do you prefer the amp without effects? Blackstar HT studio is a decent low budget amplifier,20 watts I think. Then you could get a multipedal or something to do the effects.
Gear pics

Quote by Cathbard
Bugera cloning Blackstar is a scandal cloaked in a tragedy making love to a nightmare.

For that price point, something like a vypyr just isn't good enough.