So hey guys what's up? My name is Brandon and I've been playing for about 2 months now. I really want to get good at guitar and I was wondering if you guys could tell me things I should most definitely learn in order to become a great guitarist in the future. I realize I'm not going to become Hendrix or Paige over night, but I'm very dedicated and want this badly. I'm currently playing on an Epiphone Les Paul Studio stock pickups. Sometime in the future I'm going to purchase a Schecter C1 Hellraiser and Seymour Duncan Blackouts. Just thought I'd throw that in there. Thanks!
Not in any specific order, here's what I teach my students:

Chords - Open and Barre
Notes on the neck - Gotta know 'em
How to strum
How to properly pick
How to play lead - knowledge of scales and their correct application
How to determine the key of a song
Theory

The list could go on and on, but this gives you a good idea of what I expect my students to learn.

Good luck!!!
Ok firstly;

Learn the notes of the fretboard (INCREDIBLY useful)

Secondly learn the C major scale, then G then D in that order

Learn the chords of those in that order (practise strumming with a metronome)

Learn the Circle of Fifths

Learn the I-Iv-V progression

Then Pentatonic minor scale (all 5 positions) and Blues minor scale in all keys.

Also, this is in the wrong section. Thats all i can remember atm, good luck
No ego-inflating quotes nor stupidly long signatures to be found here.

Move along.

Bands/Artists of the month; Marco Sfogli, Marco Sfogli and Marco Sfogli .

Quote by steve_muse
^lol'd at the sig, adj209
Just learn all the things you can about guitar, love the instrument, and work in you skills with the time, then you have to determinate the sound that you want, so you will can really choose well your next guitar
thats basically the beggining , I think