Before I begin,I want you to know that I'm new to guitar(6-7 months) and in the UG forum(1st post)
First of all hello to everybody!!!
Now,my question...
I've been searching around the web to find out how do I figure out where to play the notes...Let me explain...
I know all the basic notes(low E,1st fret etc etc,you get what I mean)
But how will I figure out,since the note shapes are the same on the music sheets,whether I have to play the note on the 1st fret of the E string or somewhere else on the fretboard...I'll try to make it simpler:

Here

for example,on this music sheet(without the tab) I would play 2nd note displayed not on the G string 9th fret,but on the E string,open...
How will I recognize where I will play a note that has the shape of the 1st fret on the G string,but is actually played on the B string 7th fret(The examples I give are completely random)
I hope you understand what I mean and I'm sorry if I'm saying cr@p....
Thanks for any help!!!
Playing the note on a higher string will have a thinner, more open sound; and playing it on a lower string will have a thicker, heavier sound.

Ease of playing the phrase in a certain way will probably give you hints - keeping a line between a few frets instead of sliding up and down the neck to reach notes you could get to with less movement.
Technically, it doesn't matter where you play it. Whatever position sounds best / is most comfortable is where you should play it.
They're the same notes, so you can play them anywhere. It's up to you. That's the beauty of guitar; you can play a note in multiple locations.

You may choose to play a note in one location because it makes your chord/melody fingering easier, or you may like the tone you get from it better. It doesn't really matter, as long as you're happy.
Fender American Vintage '62 Stratocaster
Gibson Les Paul Custom
TC Electronic Polytune
Danelectro Blue Paisley
EHX Big Muff Pi w/ Tone Wicker
Dunlop Crybaby
EHX Deluxe Memory Boy
Egnater Tweaker