been taking lessons for about a yearinahalf.and im about as good as you can possibly get after playing for that amount of time.
i know : all major scales,pentatonic,arpeggios (even tho im not good at playing them) and a few other shapes.i know alot of chords even tho i could probably brush up on some.
question is this : what should i do next to go to the next level of playing?
and for those who feel like answering within a hour or so,i have a guitar lesson soon and my teacher recently started wanting me to pick what he teaches me,so please give me something to ask him to teach me (we been learning some songs the last few weeks and before that classical songs,so please no songs,more theory or scale orinited)
Make sure you know all the notes everywhere on the fretboard, and can locate them without any delay. For example, if I were to tell you what note is the 7th fret of the D string, you should be able to tell me that it's an A within one or two seconds. But this is more for you to work on by yourself.

Ask him to start teaching you about intervals and how they relate to each other. IMO, learning scale and chord shapes can be very limiting. If you know how intervals function, you can easily create chords and scales on the fly, which is very helpful if you come across something odd you've never seen before. Instead of scratching your head trying to figure out what scale shape to use, you can figure it out on the fly using intervals and knowing where the notes are on the fretboard.
Fender American Vintage '62 Stratocaster
Gibson Les Paul Custom
TC Electronic Polytune
Danelectro Blue Paisley
EHX Big Muff Pi w/ Tone Wicker
Dunlop Crybaby
EHX Deluxe Memory Boy
Egnater Tweaker

Quote by Jackal58
Yer pretty fly for a Canadian.
thanks page,appreciate it....p.s.i got that it was a A allmost immidietly,the 7th fret spells "bead"f#b....
Quote by CAGEDtheory