Looking to buy a economy electric guitar as I can not justify a thousand dollar guitar just yet. I am still learning how to play.
I want something of quality and have narrowed it to the Epiphone G400SG or the Fender Strat Made in Mexico or even a mid priced schecter or Ibanez... For a start.
Any opinions on either? Which one is better? Easier to play/learn on?
I enjoy the looks of the Gibson SG but just can't afford it.
Have 250 -300 to spend. A used guitar is fine.
Any help is appreciated.

Craig
Apples and oranges. One has three single coils, master volume and two tone controls, alder body, 25.5" scale, bolt-neck construction, and many other things. Other is a double-humbucker, individual volume/tone, mahogany, 24.75" scale, set-neck, and many other things. More info please?
THE FORUM UPDATE KILLED THE GRADIENT STAR

Baltimore Orioles: 2014 AL Eastern Division Champions, 2017: 75-87
Baltimore Ravens: 2012 World Champions, 2017: 4-5
2017 NFL Pick 'Em: 92-54
depends on what music you play and the sound you are looking for. either is a decent guitar for the money. but really it just depends on your needs. lean more towards say hendrix well then strat more towards angus young then sg.
IMO a used HSS Mexi Strat will be better than the Epi.

But you need to try them out and see for yourself, you may like the feel of the Epi more.
I have many problems with my Epiphone G-400. Mine is a 2007 model and the neck is incredibly thick. That made it difficult for me too grasp the neck and forced me to stretch more than necessary. The tuning knobs are weak and the guitar itself is neck-heavy; meaning extra energy has to be put go simply hold the guitar when that energy could be used for playing better.

I don't know if new ones are improved. This is just me giving my personal experience.

I feel the G-400s best quality is the paint-job, and for me playability comes first.
Quote by warlockfan