Page 1 of 3
First of all: Hello GB&C! My name is Kylianvb, I'm a student from the Netherlands and although I don't post in here very often, I've been lurking for quite a while. I'm interested in guitarbuilding, and have been for a while, so when the question came up at school "What project do you want to do for your final year?", the answer was building me a guitar (I mainly just needed an excuse to get started, but that's besides the point). This, to me, is a great thing, because there's no option for me to back out, as that'll result in me not passing and having to redo an entire year of school... Which I don't feel like.

I'm not going to build just any ol' guitar. I'm going to try to build a replica of the 1967 Hendrix Psychedelic V (For those of you who are not familiar with it, here ya go). My main reason is that I'm a big Jimi Hendrix fan (but really, who isn't?), that the shapes are not too complicated for my mediocre woodworking skills, and that the paint job is just kickass.

Also, the neck is going to be bought, as I'm quite sure I would mess it up if I were to try to make one myself, which is something I can't really afford right now. I'll probably buy this neck. (Dutch site, but it should be understandable.)

Specs:
Body shape: Gibson Flying V
Headstock shape: Gibson Flying V
Scale: 24.75",
Number of frets: 22
Body wood: (Khaya) Mahogany
Neck wood: Mahogany
Fingerboard: Rosewood
Nut: Bone
Neck Pickups: Gibson Burstbucker #1 Classic '57
Bridge Pickup: Gibson Burstbucker #2 Classic '57 Plus
Electronics: Volume neck, volume bridge, tone for both.
Hardware: Nickel
Bridge: Gotoh Nashville Tune-O-Matic
Tremelo: Gibson Style Vibrola
Finish: Jimi Hendrix Psychedelic Design