I just started playing bass few months ago (self learn) and trying to learn how to pop and slap recently, but the slap sound on my bass sounds different from other ppl. I try youtubing the same bass but i just cannot get the correct slap sound that i hear from youtube. I always get a metal sound when i slap, i think its from the string when it hits the fret metal + without the heavy bass thump, but i don't hear that from any youtube.

Also, when i slap higher string, it doesn't have the bass sound anymore, just a very high pitch ringing. Is it the settings problem? BTW my bass is a vintage modified jbass squier. Please help me
hmm, sound clips would help. What amp are you using and how is it EQ'd. what are your knobs set at on your bass, how old are your strings, what kind of strings are you using?

from what you have posted I would say try and roll off the tone on your bass some.
no sir away a papaya war is on
Quote by the_perdestrian
hmm, sound clips would help. What amp are you using and how is it EQ'd. what are your knobs set at on your bass, how old are your strings, what kind of strings are you using?

from what you have posted I would say try and roll off the tone on your bass some.

this. It seems like you're using way to much treble.
Quote by Eliyahu
Mr.Cuddles killed The Metal!!!! FUCK YES!

Quote by TheReverend724
Mr Cuddles pretty much nailed it...

Quote by thanksgiving

"Oh Mr.Cuddles, you make my pants go boom boom. I are horny. Do not disappoint I"

Viscara (my band)
Quote by the_perdestrian

What is a sound clip? My amp is a fender rumble 15 if i remember the name correctly. the EQ is all middle bass, mid and treble, bass setting is all max as well. My string from the day i purchase this bass is around 3 months old, standard squier vintage modified j bass string.
a sound clip is a short audio recording. Im gonna give you the benefit of the doubt and just assume my wording made you overthink that.