Hello, newbie to the forum looking for a little advice on auditioning. I've been playing bass for about 6 months now and have actually been progressing pretty quickly. I have knowledge of the major/minor/pentatonic scales and can play most "intermediate" level songs.

I am looking to start auditioning for bands asap but really have very little knowledge of how the process works. I'm looking for advice from those that have been through the auditioning process which I can use to be as prepared as possible. Are most auditions just basically improvised jam sessions or should I have some original material prepared to play. Any advice on the process would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
I'd say just be yourself. the band are most likely looking for what you can bring to the table as well as the skills. ask yourself what you can actually do! suggest things whenever you get the option, just show them what you're best at. auditions can vary. Some just watch you and ask you to do something ie;sight read, show some sort of techniques. Other ones just ask you do jam with them, see what comes out. The jamming option is usually the preferable choice.
Do what you feel like, don't shit and remember, if they're douches you don't wanna join.
Quote by 09phillt
Do what you feel like, don't shit and remember, if they're douches you don't wanna join.

And don't be a douche yourself. We all hate 90% bassist for them being such.
Quote by Zeletros
And don't be a douche yourself. We all hate 90% bassist for them being such.

How am I being a douche? It's good advice!
Quote by 09phillt
How am I being a douche? It's good advice!

I suspect he meant "Don't be a douche towards them".

I doubt he meant you're a douche. If he does, I will respectfully edit this post.
In the bass chat:

<Jon> take the quote of me out your sig plx
<Jon> i hate seeing what i said around lol

Leader of the Bass Militia PM to join!

And now on BANDCAMP!

Officially the funniest member of the Bass Forum.