Ok, I've lurked these forums for quite some time but this is my first post. I started playing guitar about three months ago, my first purchase was a $350 acoustic. I've since decided that this is something I really want to pursue and have decided to buy an electric. I'm willing to spend upto $1300 (not including an amp, I have a seperate budget for that). I was quite certain that I was going to buy an Esp EC-1000, however it seems as though it's more of a heavy metal/hard rock kind of guitar.

I really like every type of music, and as such, would like a versatile guitar that sounds good playing everything. I need some help deciding and I'm hoping you can help, here's what I'm looking at...

- Esp EC-1000
- Gibson Les Paul Studio
- Fender American Select Stratocaster HSS Electric Guitar
- PRS SE Paul Allender Electric Guitar
- Fender American Standard Stratocaster HSS Electric Guitar

If you think that there's something better please let me know...

Thanks in advance.
although personally i prefer LP's to strats, i guess the most versatile would be the hss strat. i'm not sure what the "select" stratocaster is, but the american standard is never a bad choice.
All the way from Palm Springs, just out of detox.
Show him a warm welcome, let's hear some applause
dayum, you must be rich if you're gonna spend that much money on a FIRST guitar. If you are totally SURE this is something you wanna do, a strat is pretty solid, but imo. Its used in every genre. Anyway, just be sure your gonna stick with it if your gonna pop this much money down, because when I first played, I played alot for like a few months, and stopped for like 2 years.
I appreciate the concern...i know is alot of money but its definitely something I want to continue for a long time.
Get something cheaper and learn first.
A lot of people just put their guitars down, just like you already did once.