Hey guys, playing classical music since I was like 7 I've grown used to the little details in music. So when I hear the little extra notes these two players add, not saying they are the only ones, but I love the little extra notes they add that go with the chords.

I watched some lessons, and some vids from Frusciante on youtube, he talked about why he played the bass of the chord with his thumb etc.

I'm not trying to be exactly like those guys with the thumb covering the bass a lot of the time, I have big hands/ long fingers, but any tips for playing that(w/o thumb on bass strings) way or is that the only way to barre up the neck and have freedom to add those little notes?

I can fool around with my free fingers on open chords, I'm still a beginner just starting to be able to barre the index way though.

http://free-loops.com/tv-23-john-frusciante-guitar-lessons.html
Last edited by weteath at Aug 21, 2010,
"playing classical music since I was like 7"
"I'm still a beginner just starting to be able to barre the index way though."

...?
Do whatever sounds good. If you can't add flourishes on a normal barre chord without turning it into a 7 chord or something, then use your thumb.

I'm also a big fan of the thumb over the top style, but sometimes you just need that low 5th in the chord for it to sound right (in which case I would go for a normal barre).
PPPPPPPOSTFINDER
could you link that video up there please? im a big JF fan.

The thumb/bar chord thing: nothing for it other than practice - it gives a nice open sound though.

learn these songs, they all use the 'add in the notes' chord manipulation technique:

Pearl Jam - yellow Ledbetter
Jimi Hendrix - Little Wing
Jimi Hendrix - The wind cries Mary.

Good luck, and keep us posted!
I assure you its brilliant!
You don't have to use your thumb at all. It's optional.