Hey everyone. So here's my dilemma. I'm new to college this year, I just moved in to my dorm on Wednesday. Trouble is, I live in another state. I know absolutely no one. I'm a shy guy around people I don't know, and I'm really starting to feel kinda lonely around here.

So my question is this. What are good ways to meet people at college/university? Especially for the shy. I hope this thread helps others in this situation too.
Call me Jack.
All that you love...
...you must love now.
My Gear:
PRS Custom 24
Standard MIM Tele
Larrivée LV-09E
Rivera Clubster 45 112 Combo Tube
Boss ME-20 Multi-effects pedal
Boss OC-3 Super octave pedal
My own home-made octave-up pedal
join clubs.

or sit and look lonely in the dining hall. someone will eventually join you.
Go to some of the activities arranged by the College or join a club.
I like St. Anger. Ridicule me, daddy
Quote by The_Blode
^ I'm sorry your highness I forgot that I'm subhuman. . .

Quote by ErikLensherr
Normani
Normani
Normies
REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Join groups and go to events, join a sport or the gym. Talk to people in and out of classes.
████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
Don't bring your ipod or whatever the first month. You'll be more approachable if you're not just sitting in your own world. And you'll be more inclined to just talk to other people to kill boredom.
the classing thing works well because you are forced to have something in common. i feel like a lot of classes you take in your first term or two wind up giving you group projects so students are forced to interact and maybe strike up friendships.
Walk around with your PRS custom. People will flock to you.
I play guitar in a ska band.
Modded MIM Strat > Fender Tuner > Bugera V55HD > Custom built 2x12