I am having trouble understanding scales.

I can play them, but I believe it is more important to understand the scales, because without understanding, I cannot create music.

I know that there are scale 'forms' that can be moved up and down the neck.
I know that there is a way to know how to play a scale in a certain key, but I cannot figure out how.

When looking at the neck right now, to me, I do not see the scale pathways, and when I try to solo, I have no knowledge so I am just playing random notes.

How do I know where each root note/scale is so when I make a song in a certain key, I am playing a correct scale in that key as well.

Thank you
Either you memorize patterns or you memorize the notes in each scale and all the notes in the fretboard. From personal experience either you're really resilient or the first method is the best. I compose and I use the first method.

It has some advantages and some disadvantages. The main advantage is that it will give you a tool to write and improvise that's really easy to learn (if you practice a couple of hours a day you can get your pentatonics down in a week or less; they take a lot of time to master though). The major disadvantage is that you don't really learn music and so when writing at first it will be quite hit and miss. In the long run though as you start to master this you'll be hear trained to recognize some stuff that works best. You'll see.

So in conclusion I'd say learn your pentatonic patterns. There are five and they work on every scale based on the root. Then practice your improvisation and start writing little chord pieces and build up from there.
Quote by Sinister Waffle
Who pirates Winrar? that has to be the most passive aggressive program I've ever seen.

"hey you should really buy me, the 40 days is up"
* hits X button*
" Oh okay, maybe next time?"

You sir have just won a thousand internets.