I've been playing for about two years, and Master of Puppets is a really simple song to me but I just can't downpick it. Everytime I attempt to play I'm too slow and I start messing up because my arm gets too tired starts shaking too much. So how do I increase my downpicking speed so I can play this song easily? Does it require certain muscle training or something?
You could alternate pick...
Quote by rmr024
Well, in California, people carry around devices that control the minds of bears. So expect to see people walking their bears.

Also, don't be surprised if some robot hookers try to solicit sex to you on the streets.
i downpick
when learning the song i just played it slow and sped up until i got to the speed im so glad i didnt know i could strum up when i learned that song
alternate pick, but i agree, by the end of 8 and a half minutes my arm starts getting tired lol
I don't suggest trying to learn the song with alternate picking, rather strengthen your downpicking.

To do this, just do regular exercises, but only use downpicking. slowly increase your speed, your picking hand will be much stronger.

Downpicking sounds a lot more aggressive and it's a good thing to have speed at, especially if you play rhythm.
I've never tried to play that particular song but I'm sure its just a technique issue man the old thrash stuff requires a lot of stamina just keep working at it bro you will get it,its the only way practice,practice,practice
Fender 70s Ri Strats w/various Dimarzios
Modded 1982 Marshall JCM800 2203

Boss DS-1,Dunlop Crybaby,MXR Phase 90,Ibanez AD9,Boss CH-1

Check out randy dobsons underground ,tell me what you think
everybody knows that james hetfield down picks everything and kirk alternate picks. So for metallica its sorta your choice but alot of people would agree the sound of downstroking is better. So yes just train your muscle alot. Learn alot of different songs and downstroke the riffs and you will get better.