Ok, over the years I have seen millions of "how do I teach this guy/girl guitar?" threads, so why don't we make a master thread for it?

Obviously I'm no expert, so I'm not going to contribute, but if anyone else want to make a big contribution I'll put it up here.
Perhaps we could build up a list of good songs to learn to start off with?

Just a suggestion really, I just realised it's one of those topics we're getting all the time

I made this thread in the Pit as it was supposed to be for all kinds of guitar not just electric, but it got closed
Hi! I'm Andrew, and when I have a bubble in my throat I sound like Alan Rickman!

I have the BEST Jizz Face on UG!

My YouTube Channel (slowmotion stuff!): www.youtube.com/wannabeguitarlegend
Quote by AxSilentxLine
Last time I checked that's what Guitar Techniques forum was for?

Well all the "how do I teach this guy/girl guitar?" threads I've found have nearly always been in this forum
Hi! I'm Andrew, and when I have a bubble in my throat I sound like Alan Rickman!

Quote by archerygenious
Well all the "how do I teach this guy/girl guitar?" threads I've found have nearly always been in this forum

Because they're doin' it wrong

besides, this is the kind of thing you ask by PMing a mod
Quote by AxSilentxLine

Faildogs

EDIT: And also, this isn't actually THE teaching thread, this is just a thread suggesting the idea

Last edited by archerygenious at Aug 23, 2010,
lmao

and to anyone who views this:

STEP ONE: teach them the james bond thing, the easy chromatic thing.
TWO: Em, A, D and G. Explain that G Em and D are "the chords to get laid"
THREE: power chord shape.

this appears to be roughly standard practise.

FOUR: Smells like teen spirit
FIVE: if you cant figure out wha to teach any more than that, you shouldnt be teaching.

Enjoy.

Also, if they request to learn the following songs, give them a slap.

Smoke on the water
through fire and flames
stairway to heaven
teen spirit (yeah i know its mentioned there,)