I've never played guitar before, but I want to start learning how to. I'm looking for a cheap guitar though. I'm a poor college student and I don't have much money. I'm hoping to spend less than $120 on a guitar alone, but can go up to $160 if it will make a huge difference.

I'd like to play mostly 70s and 80s hard rock/heavy metal. Some of my favorite bands from the time are Guns N Roses, Ratt, Poison, Metallica, Queen, KISS, Led Zeppelin, Van Halen, and the like. I do want to play other genres of music though. I'd like to play pretty much everything from blues to classic rock to jazz to metalcore. It all depends on my mood what I feel like playing, so a versatile guitar would be preferred. If I can't get a guitar that's good at everything in my price range, then one that would play hard rock/metal well is a priority.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
see if you can get a cheap guitar with HUMBUCKERS. These are really important for metal or hard rock tones, as Single Coils don't take distortion well.

My suggestion would be with Epiphone, they have really low-end guitars on the cheap if you can find them locally.
Might I recommend going used. you can get a solid low end guitar and practice amp for under 100 on craigslist.

my 2 cents would say ibanez gax series. I love mine, its dual humbucker with an awesome action.. I still have and play mine, I use it as a nice little moding platform. also, I have played and heard a lot of people saying samick is your best bang for the buck on the low end.

but I must say, always buy used. and if you do buy new, buy from a small shop not guitar center.

protip: you can usually haggle the price down a little bit in small shops, or at least get them to throw in a strap or cable or something.
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Schecter-Guitar-Research-006-Deluxe-Electric-Guitar?sku=518183