So, as some of you may know I started playing bass more and more like I used to. Anyways, right now I'm doing quite well, I've got muting (which was a problem I had since day 1 of playing bass) fixed, and I'm learning more songs and stuff.

Right now, I'm trying to fix my pressure issues. I'd just like to ask you guys...are there any exercises that would help me not play as hard? If you understand what I mean

Also, I'd like to start playing more by ear. Right now I'm relying mostly on TAB and sheet music, but I'll be honest, TAB is what I usually learn my songs with, and many of you think that isn't as good. I know the best way to learn is by ear, but I just can't seem to learn Any tips? Would trying to learn the Nightmare album by A7X be a good way to start learning by ear?

Finally, scales. Holy shit scales. Right now I know this one, which goes like:

G---------------2-4-5--
D-------2-3-5----------
A-3--5------------------
E------------------------

hope that came out right...

But I don't even know what it is (although I think it's a major scale...by how it sounds)...what scales should I learn, How, can anyone give me a basic lessons on scales haha?

Anyways, that's it for now. Sorry if it's a big thread, but I just got back to bass and I want to make sure I'm doing things right!
"You have brains in your head,
You have feet in your shoes,
You can steer yourself,
any direction you choose,
You're on your own,
And you know what you know,
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go."

- Dr. Seuss
Quote by salgala2000
If my singing is correct yes it is a major scale.
Don't play so hard, well... Just don't play so hard lol.
To start learning by ear, try to learn easy songs where bass is just the root note, figure out the note.
No i do not think a7x is a good place to start.

A7X is pretty easy

haha, what would you recommend?
You can steer yourself,
You're on your own,

- Dr. Seuss