Hi all

I am a beginner - I have been playing a loaned classical guitar for six months and have enjoyed it - bit I prefer to listen to Black Sabbath rather than Bach - so an electric is required

I have a budget of about £200, I have medium sized hands at best, so I think a narrowish neck would suit me. I would like to play classic rock\70s and 80s metal - think Black Sabbath, White Stripes, Def Leppard, Pink Floyd. I have decided on a Vox VT15 Amp (don't try and change my mind, I need to decide on something!)

I have read through the choosing a new guitar thread, it's very helpful but the choice available is overwhelming. So I'm looking to construct a shortlist based on the above criteria. if anyone could recommend a few models to start with I'd be very grateful.

Thanks in advance

Ash
UK
Last edited by AshersUK at Aug 25, 2010,
Good amp choice, it's exactly what I would've recommended!

As for guitar, have a look at vintage guitars, see if there are any you like there, they're good, cheap guitars and I know people who've been playing for years and still use Vintage guitars they got for under £200!

http://www.jhs.co.uk/vintageelectric.html
Hi! I'm Andrew, and when I have a bubble in my throat I sound like Alan Rickman!

I have the BEST Jizz Face on UG!

My YouTube Channel (slowmotion stuff!): www.youtube.com/wannabeguitarlegend
Do not forget to check out Squier's Classic Vibe and Vintage Modified series', either. Great guitars for the price. If you like playing stuff like Sabbath, I'd recommend something with a humbucker pickup at the bridge position, and if I recall correctly, the VM series has a strat with that.
Gear:

Guitars: Ibanez SV5470F, Ibanez Xpt700, Fender MIM Standard Stratocaster ('04-'05), Jackson Ps-2
Ashton AG200,
Amps: ENGL E530, Bugera 6262-212,
FX: TC Electronics G-major 2, Behringer EQ700, Morley Volume / Wah