Hey A&C Forum.
So I bought a new electro-acoustic nearly 2 weeks ago, and it hurts my fingers on my fretting hand while playing barre chords and sometimes while doing hammer ons. Don't get me wrong, I have been playing over 1 and a half years, and I have had a steel string before, but it's really doing my head in because I can't practice as much as I want to.
This has happened before on my electro-acoustic, after I got new strings put on it (before I replaced the strings it was fine), and I just blamed it on the action being quite high. But the action is reasonably low on this guitar (0.5cm at 1st fret, 1.5cm at 12th), and it still hurts my fingers even though its low.
Do you think it's because of the strings? I haven't yet changed the strings on my new guitar, but I will soon probably to Elixir Medium Polyweb (I've never used these before but my favourite band uses them and I love the sound of them so ). Or is there any other reason for this?
I think your fretting too hard. Honestly. Try to lighten your touch, even on barre chords. They really don't take a lot of strength.

Other than that the steel strings will always hurt a bit more then electric or nylon strings. It shouldn't stop you from playing though.
Fender Stratocaster USA Deluxe 2005
MIJ Fender Contemporary Stratocaster '85-'86 HSS System I DiMarzio SD Bridge
Epiphone 2010 Les Paul Tribute
Ibanez AW30ECE Acoustic
Line 6 IV 75w (lol)
As well, if its causing you a bit of pain, I see no reason why you couldn't go for a set of Elixir Lights. It would certainly make pressing the strings down a bit easier than a set of mediums; and, in my opinion, there isn't a huge difference in tone/volume. At least, not enough to warrant the thicker gauge.