Ok so to make a long story short I've been playing for less than 2 years. I don't practice like I should. Instead I just pick up my guitar and try to learn at song at full speed right off the bat. I'm realizing now that this is a bad idea since every song I can play isn't polished and I frequently make mistakes, and it will sometimes sound great while other times it will sound like @#&$

So I'm trying to master the solo from Enter Sandman. Pretty easy song and solo to be honest, but I can't get the solo down. I want to be able to play it flawlessly with my eyes closed. So I've started playing it at around 80BPM with an online metronome. I do have a question though; how would you play this part? (I hope this tab comes out right)

1|-17p14----17p14----17p14-19p15----19p15----19p15-|
2|-------15-------15-------------17-------17-------|
3|-------------------------------------------------|
4|-------------------------------------------------|
5|-------------------------------------------------|
6|-------------------------------------------------|

1|-21p17----21p17----21p17----22b24-(22)\------|-----------------|
2|-------17-------17-------17-------------9b10-|-(9)---9b10---9--|
3|----------------------------------------9b11-|-(9)---9b11---9--|
4|---------------------------------------------|-----------------|
5|---------------------------------------------|-----------------|
6|---------------------------------------------|-----------------|

I can play it, but for whatever reason it seems like I'm making it more difficult to play than it should be. I use my index finger for the 14th fret, the ring finger for the 17th fret, and the middle finger on the 15th fret of the B string. I keep this formation for the next little bit until I get to the 21st fret. At that part I lay my index finger across the B and E strings on the 17th fret and I use my ring finger on the 17th fret of the B string. (If you have any questions about that please ask. I know it is confusing lol)