Hi all! I'm very new to tube amplifiers. I haven't bought one yet, but I've been reading about them a lot. I've been wanting a tube amplifier and I've been looking into this one and playing it a bit at Guitar Center.

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Peavey-6505-112-60W-1x12-Tube-Combo-Guitar-Amp?sku=582106

One thing I'm not sure about is replacing the tubes themselves and adjusting the bias on the tubes. I've read that the Peavey amp's tubes run "cold" but I'm not sure if or how the bias can be adjusted on these amps. I'm sure it's not hard to replace the tubes, but adjusting anything else seems like something I wouldn't really want to do.
I was wondering if adjusting the bias is ABSOLUTELY necessary. Since the amp already uses 12AX7's and 6L6GC's, when the time comes to replace them, could I just put in new tubes of that those types without adjusting anything? I was looking at the Electro-Harmonix 12AX7EH's and the 6L6EH's.
Any useful tips or advice?
You won't have to worry about changing the tubes for a very long time. 2 years minimum under normal use. Longer for the preamp tubes. You don't have to bias unless the power tubes are redplating. I'm not sure if there's even a bias trimmer in the Peavey though.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
Biasing just seems to best way to get the most out of your amp, However you may like the tone of a colder bias, or a hotter bias, but it does have a affect on the time the tubes will last
A good reading on the bias test points is - 46 volts. As you reduce the grid voltage, the tubes will run hotter, so for tone purposes I don't adjust it to anything more positive than - 43 because the tone starts to mush out, and that's not a very desirable thing with the 6505's.