Hi,

I'm still relatively new to the recording world (have only been doing it "properly" since about January time), and have just learnt about quantizing and autotune, and have a few questions on them.

1. Is quantizing only used on drums, or is it also used on other instruments, even vocals?
2. I know that autotune is very widely used in the pop world, but was wondering if it is used in the rock world too, because one of the things that I've always liked about rock music is that it's more "real" than pop music. Is quantizing used much too?

Thanks
Adam Black 12 String
Alesis X Guitar
Epiphone DR-200ce
Italia Maranello Standard
Fender American Deluxe Strat

Digitech Whammy
Vox Crybaby
Behringer UD100
Boss RC-2

Roland Cube 15
Marshall DSL-401
Sound City 20 Watt Valve
Quantizing can be used on almost any instrument, including sometimes vocals. It can lead to an unnaturally in-time sound, however.

Autotune is, I'd imagine, used in most music at least a little bit, including rock music. I wouldn't say all rock bands use it, and it depends what you classify as rock, but as a general answer I'd say it is definitely used.
If music was the food of love I'd be a fat romantic slob.
^Agreed. If you overuse quantizing, then your music will sound robotic. Unnatural. Same goes with auto tune. Use it when it needs it, but don't pour it on.
"Music Can Change The World Because It Can Change People..." - Bono

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WARNING! SHAMELESS SELF-PROMOTION AHEAD!

Quote by Mr_Jubby_Jubs
Quantizing can be used on almost any instrument, including sometimes vocals. It can lead to an unnaturally in-time sound, however.

Autotune is, I'd imagine, used in most music at least a little bit, including rock music. I wouldn't say all rock bands use it, and it depends what you classify as rock, but as a general answer I'd say it is definitely used.

That's a bit sad I think.