All
About 10 days ago I woke up and my left hand fingers were very stiff. No pain, but it took me a few minutes of moving and stretching my fingers before I could make a tight fist.

I am assuming it is not arthritis because it wasn't gradual and my hand was fine one day and the next I woke up and it was stiff. It has been like that every day. I wake up, it is stiff and about 5 minutes later after using my hand I am good and off playing guitar no problems.

Now I didn't play guitar for 3 years and started again two months ago. The only thing I can think of that is different is that as of about a month ago I have been on the computer about 2-3 hours a night typing.

It is not in my palm, nor is it carpal tunnel. My left index finger is slightly larger at the joint (maybe swollen a bit) but the other fingers are the same size as my right hand fingers.

Any thoughts?
how old are you?
have you been throwing punches!!!

i have been playing for 15 years solid and i have recently noticed that my joints collapse easily when fretting!! weird...somehow related to meds?? i have no idea...
Honestly? Your hand is probably just tired, dude!

If you've been playing guitar more often, and typing alot more than usual, you can expect that. If the only symptom you're getting is that you take slightly longer to warm up, then I wouldn't worry too much

If, however, you get pain and/or numbness then that's a different issue...rest would be needed!
not that i am a workout buff or anything, but i have always found that weight training and push ups help with ya geetar skillzz