I have a Yamaha F-310. Not a bad sounding guitar, for what I payed. It was my first, so I cherish it.

I've noticed for a while that there's some buzzing, particularly when power chords are played. It's annoying as all hell. Also, the B string touches directly on the metal between the first and second fret, to the point where there is an indention.

I've never had repairs, but I've taken care of it as well as I could. I've used light gauge strings up until recently. Now I use medium gauge for a change of pace.

I'm probably getting a new guitar soon anyways. But still, should I be taking measures to protect my baby, such as truss rod adjustment?

Oh, her name is Serena.
hi, Serena's person.

do you use a hygrometer ? this sounds like a humidity issue.
Last edited by patticake at Aug 27, 2010,
I've never used one before. I live in a very humid place though. That would make sense.
What would I need to do to fix the issue?
you may need either drying packs for inside your guitar case, gigbag or closet or you could get a dehumidifier or use the A/C to dry the air.

it's very important to know the humidity your guitar is stored at. that way, you'll know when you've got the humidity tweaked right, or might even discover it's not as humid as you thought. while changing strings from light to medium might require a slight truss rod adjustment, it shouldn't be as bad as it sounds like, which is why i think it's humidity related.
I'd have the instrument looked at by a qualified technician before I started trying to control humidity.
String "buzz" is caused by the vibrating string touching (just barely) a fret somewhere between the fretted note and the saddle.
This can be caused by a number of things, including a "lifted" fret. Normally, with age, you'd expect any neck movement to increase relief, not decrease it.

The action may simply be set too low. It may be that your change to medium-gauge strings results in a greater amplitude of vibration... Resulting in buzzing.