I am a newbie to guitar playing and im looking for an amp. Im going to play mostly metal/rock type music. I would like to stay in the $400-$700 range. My current guitar is an Ibanez RG370DX but im ordering a new schecter blackjack with SD blackouts. This is mostly for in home use. A combo amp seems more logical but im here for opinions. There are so many amps and reviews out there I was overwhelmed! Onboard effects are nice but I will end up running separate effect pedals. I know this type of question probably gets asked 1000 times a day here so I appologize. As I said, I am a newb Thanks.
Blackheart makes some nice smallish tube combos in the $300-500 range. You might need a distortion pedal to push them into the territory you're really looking for though. The 15W model is big enough to jam with (in a band or whatever) but might be a little underpowered without a PA (depends on the band/drummer).

Marshall has the new MA-series, which is interesting anyway. Never tried them, but I'd recommend trying them.

If you're not opposed to grabbing distortion pedals an AC15 will give you mad tone... You can push those well into metal territory with pedals and still have blistering clarity. It also has excellent cleans if the volume isn't crazy or you 'roll off' your volume knob on the guitar. Peavey Classic 30, though not really the tone you're looking for on it's own, will similarly serve you well with pedals and is flexible enough to go from clean to scream (they're also known to be incredibly reliable and easy to repair on the rare occasion they break down).

If you really want that "chunka chunka" sound for metal you have go for a 4x12, but there's honestly nothing in your price range really worth considering (that's that big) AND it would be complete overkill at home or even with a band if they didn't have a good isolated rehearsal space (socially speaking) and a decent PA for any vocalists involved...