Page 1 of 2
Just a quick question on Eddie Van Halen's Frankenstrat guitar, he's one of my favourite guitarists and I've always wanted to have his guitar! But.. They don't seem to exist on any type of market.

Is there any reason why this is, and is there any way I could possibly get one in the future?

Thanks.
Main reason is because it's a guitar he made himself before I guess. Besides, not many want an ugly one like that... Even though it sounds nice when he's playing it, I think that's only when it's really gonna sound good as well, with his unique style of playing.
Sounds pretty decent, I'm no expert on guitar's, well.. I know next to nothing, but I'd love to have a replica of that guitar, it may be slightly ugly, but what it is sure makes up for it.

I'd love to have one, and I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one. "/
they made some exact replicas... 3 of them... $25,000 a piece.

i painted my ibanez to look like his 5150 kramer with spray paint and it turned out pretty good.

Theres a lot of frankenstrat type guitars everywhere. Check ebay, and Craigslist. I know that Charvel? had a few replicas in 3 colors. Theres a bunch. Plus, you could always do it yourself!
There were more than 3 made *cough*

http://www.guitarcenter.com/EVH-Eddie-Van-Halen-Frankenstein-Replica-Electric-Guitar-104226733-i1176775.gc

You can buy one right now if you want. They are made by Fender's Custom Shop.

+1 to what nickdohle said - there are lots of versions out there.

You can also make one pretty cheap if you are handy in that area. My friend eyebanez333 made this one:
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1035166

PS: I don't think they are ugly at all - they are iconic. This also belongs in EG or GBnC

Yeaa, I'm not sure I'm ready for paying out the much just yet ;D.
The thought of attempting to make one seems pretty exciting, but I know for a fact I'd get into massive amounts of trouble attempting it .