Does playing an instrument make listening to music a better experience?

Page 1 of 2
So, does having the ability to play an instrument make listening to music a better experience?

I think it does, because now when I listen to music I can sort of point out all the different instruments and understand what is going on. Understanding some theory helps, too.

Discuss.
Probably, from playing an instrument you'd know what's complicated and what's simple
Quote by jibran
I go to the pit only to just look at your creepy perverted username.

My Tumblr
Without doubt.

inb4 essays describing it --> you understand what youre hearing. That's the simplest way of putting it.
Quote by EndTheRapture51
who pays five hundred fucking dollars for a burger
Mostly, yes. Except when I started playing guitar and learning the songs I liked at the time, I realised pretty quick that the songs were really simple and not very exciting. More of a reflection on the music I used to like though I think.

But otherwise, I think it gives you a better perspective on just how good (or bad) some musicians are.
Most Definately My Musical taste has changed dramatically from Indie to Avant-Garde I can listen to other music, but It just bores me after a while, and I find avant-garde music really intriguing and different

I also now instinctively think about how the song in question is composed, how its played out etc. Basically, it enables you to analyse music in a whole new perspective, and appreciate types of music wouldn't of listen to otherwise
Last edited by ultrasonic at Aug 29, 2010,
I don't know. I've played an instrument pretty much all of my life (that I can remember)so I have nothing to compare it to.
Definitely, it really lets you appreciate your favorite musicians.
IT'S OVER 9000!!!!