I've been playing guitar for what seems like forever (probably around 8-10 years) and have basically got nowhere with it as the only way I've learned is by teaching myself bits of songs that I like (theres a few recordings on my profile for anyone that wants a quick laugh!). I have no theory knowledge at all and have never bothered to learn any solos.

Basically I want to know peoples opinions on what I should do to start taking my playing more seriously and what kind of route to take. (Lessons are not an option for me.)
Gibson SG
Ibanez K-7
Vintage (V99 or V100 not sure which!)
Crafter FX-550EQ

Korg Pitchblack
Boss DS-1
Digitech Bad Monkey
Blackstar HT-5 Combo
Line 6 HD500
Quote by Zeletros
Start bothering to learn solos.

I meant to say that I've attempted to play a few solos and always been unable to, so no longer bother.

Also, I don't see how just learning solos would improve my overall playing
Gibson SG
Ibanez K-7
Crafter FX-550EQ

Korg Pitchblack
Boss DS-1
Digitech Bad Monkey
Blackstar HT-5 Combo
Line 6 HD500
Get lessons. Simple. And why are they not? There must be a lot of teachers in the UK.
Gear pics

Quote by Cathbard
Bugera cloning Blackstar is a scandal cloaked in a tragedy making love to a nightmare.

You're asking us to give you a plan, a route to get somewhere. But you haven't told us what your goal is. `Taking playing more seriously' is a vague goal at best. You've gotta pick something and then make a plan to work towards it.

What do you want to become better at?

Willem
http://www.theloneguitaristblog.com
Quote by Sakke
Get lessons. Simple. And why are they not? There must be a lot of teachers in the UK.

I work strange shifts, have no spare income and have no transport... do I need any other reasons?

Quote by plaa
Learn theory.

Where would I start with this?
Gibson SG
Ibanez K-7
Crafter FX-550EQ

Korg Pitchblack
Boss DS-1
Digitech Bad Monkey
Blackstar HT-5 Combo
Line 6 HD500
Quote by Obsolete80