So I love guitar, more than anything in the world. It is my dream to somehow turn that into a career for myself. This probably sounds very familiar, but what should I do about college? I have been mostly self taught aside from lessons for about a year and feel that without a doubt I need something else. I found the college MIT out in California and was curious on anyone's take of it. I just need some help, I just know guitar is the thing I love most and I would regret not trying to take a shot at somehow doing something with it. Would appreciate anyone's input on what they think I should do or what they did with stories. Thanks a ton guys, I'm really in a hole here.
in my opinion, there is two things you can do.
you can go to college for a music degree that will get you a good job, or you can go to college to get a music degree.
i am going to be majoring in music education, because i love music more than anything, but i also want a good job. (and i LOVE teaching music to people, so why not be a music teacher?)
OR you can just go for a music degree that will make you satisfied on the side (not as a profession) as like a hobby thing.
because theres not any job openings for people who major in "music performance", you know what i mean? kinda of a useless degree in my opinion.
my 6 best friends:
Ibanez Artcore AF75
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
LTD H-207 7 string
Ibanez Acoustic
A degree in music is usually a bad idea. In the actual industry (session musician, producer, composer, whatever) the actual piece of paper saying you have a degree isn't that important, having contacts and actual talent is what will get you a job (unlike in most other professions where it's the other way around). This is especially true when a lot of the stuff they teach you in these courses is stuff you can learn on the Internet, even complicated concepts like modular synthesis and voiceleading.