Alright, so I've had an Epiphone G-400 for the past two years or so. I like it because it's easy to play, but moreover, I hate it because it's so high maintenance. I'm constantly re-setting it up, it doesn't want to stay in tune because of the flimsy neck, and now most recently, I've tried adjusting the pole pieces and I think I lost too much wax from the inside, so now I get a little bit of a ringing from the springs inside. I paid around $470 dollars for the guitar with the case, and I've probably thrown another $150 dollars into it just to get it to play nice (not to mention the case's lock sucks). So I looked around I thought I like the Ltd EC-401 or EC-401 FM. They seemed pretty legit. I play a lot of metal, though I'm not that great of a guitarist, since I've been self-taught up to this point. So, I've got a couple questions:
1.) Is the Ltd EC-401 worth the money (stays in tune, plays nice, sounds great, low maintenance, etc.)
2.) Is it better than the Epiphone G-400, and if so, how much better?
3.) If the answer to number one is yes, than should I trade in the G-400 to help pay for it, or should I keep it in case I need it?

Keep in mind, the G-400 still works, it just takes a lot of work to get it right. If anyone has any other suggestions on guitars, feel free. Actually, I implore you. I'm looking to spend anywhere between $500 and $750. I'll probably end up going down to Dave's Guitar Shop to just try out a bunch anyway.

Thanks (in advance) for the help!
Last edited by okokel at Aug 30, 2010,
im a big gibson fan, however i do not like epiphones really, so if it were me i would pick the EC 401. in my opinion ltds beat epihones as far as playability and reliability. the esp ltd eclipse series are much thinner and lighter, which depending on preference can be good or bad. but if it were between the g400 and the ec 401 i would go with the ec 401
1) I'd say so. Haven't owned one, but they feel nice, and I've heard good things from LTD.