Hey UG,

I've got this old 25w amp laying around a Radiotechnika Y-101

http://rushifi.narod.ru/foto/RadiotechnikaY101.jpg

Its currently setup with my vinyl record player but one speaker channel on it's broken and it doesn't get THAT much use.

I was wondering if I could take it apart and salvage the components for pedal building ?

Is this viable or just a pipe dream ? I have very little electronics knowledge so I don't know if the amp and lets say a fuzz pedal share similar components.
Quote by Roc8995
Kirk Hammett should just build a wah into his goddam shoes.

Quote by dyingdivinity
wat is pokemanz?
You could definitely salvage some components, though you won't immediately have a use for all of them. You could open it up just for a look to see if there is many components.

Also, to salvage you would need a solder sucker and a soldering iron, as well as pliers and maybe cutters.

With the last point about the fuzz pedal, there's a good chance that there will be a few usable components for say, a standard fuzz face, but probably not the exact value for the whole thing. Still, it's definitely good to have a stockpile of components lying around as you're recycling them and saves you money and trips to the store!
you could at least save the pots, that'd be good, and maybe some components will still be good and usable inside, so why not.

████████████
████████████

RBY CYOA
Just a wick related question, would something like a car stereo that has a volume knob have a pot that would be usable in a guitar/amp?

Guitarist for 11+ years
Bassist for 6+ years
Drummer for 5+ months

PSN account - DeadAimHeadshot
Quote by Diminishedfaith
Just a wick related question, would something like a car stereo that has a volume knob have a pot that would be usable in a guitar/amp?

It depends, I think. Older stereos with the analogue volume adjust, then yes.