So I've decided to upgrade my pickups on my standard Mexi Strat. I'm going with DiMarzio vintage ones (they are like stacked humbuckers) the models are: the Area '58, '67, and '61.

My guitar comes standardized with 250k pots, as those are fender standards, and I was wondering if I need to buy 500k pots because the pickups are humbuckers and I've heard that humbuckers need 500k pots.

Another question I have is since I can't physically use my bridge pickup with my neck pickup, if I but a push/pull pot, and used the switch as a tone knob for both the bridge, and the neck pickups. Would this work? I can't see any problems with this electronically speaking, but this is my first time doing anything with guitar electronics.

Thanks for your help,
Zaydn.
You don't need to change the pots, stacked humbuckers are designed to sound as close to single coils as possible. Unlike active pickups, passive pickups have no "requirement" as to what value pots to use, it's just what sounds best, the pot value simply shapes the sound. Since 250k is generally accepted as the standar for single coils, I'd sick with them, if you think it's too bright then get lower value ones, if you think it's too dull then get higher value ones (changing the value on the volume or tone knob affect the tone differently, but for both, higher value=more treble).

As for the push pull idea, you can simply wire it so that it when pulled it engages the bridge or neck pickup (your choice) regardless of where the pickup selector is, giving you all possible combinations for a parallel wired guitar.
That was actually a really good idea (about the push/pull thing). Another thing I found though was this: http://accessories.musiciansfriend.com/product/ToneShaper-Stratocaster-SSS1-Control-Knobs-and-Switch?sku=476462