Page 1 of 2
Okay I've read the rules and I'm pretty this I'm safe to ask this so hear it goes...

My "band" is doing a cover of Drive by Incubus. For simiplicity's sake, the progression we're using throughout the verse is:

Em, D, Cmaj7, and Asus2

Can somebody explain what mode would work over this and why?
Kinda pathetic, I know...I can build chords, but I am just learning modes and whatnot.
It's all in E minor, so you could use E natural minor.

Over the D and Asus2 you could use E Dorian, which over the Asus2 would imply an A major chord.

(and a Dmaj7 instead of a D7)
Last edited by blue_strat at Aug 30, 2010,
Key = E minor, Scale = E minor

No modes.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Quote by AlanHB

No modes.
Exactly. Mike Einziger's solo uses solely the E natural minor scale if I recall correctly.
Only play what you hear. If you don’t hear anything, don’t play anything.
-Chick Corea
And so, the MT gang foil yet another plot by the evil Mr. Modes Are Just Like Scales, who grudgingly remarks, "And I would have gotten away with it to if it weren't for you meddling kids."

(No offense to you TS, and sorry for not really contributing).
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK
Quote by rockingamer2
And so, the MT gang foil yet another plot by the evil Mr. Modes Are Just Like Scales, who grudgingly remarks, "And I would have gotten away with it to if it weren't for you meddling kids."

Thank you, that gave me a good hearty chuckle. I really needed that.
-Chick Corea
Quote by polishedbullet
Okay I've read the rules and I'm pretty this I'm safe to ask this so hear it goes...

My "band" is doing a cover of Drive by Incubus. For simiplicity's sake, the progression we're using throughout the verse is:

Em, D, Cmaj7, and Asus2