I've been playing guitar for 4 years now, and been really going at it harder than ever on my electric in the last 2 years. I'm by no means a beginner. And i noticed one evening while warming my hands that if i press the fingertip of my rude finger towards the palm while the 1st half of the finger is still in line with the rest it locks in place?

Is this happening to anyone else out there :S
When did harry potter get a signature guitar?

Gear:

Peavey Raptor
Fender Squire Strat
Peavey Audition Trans-tube Amp
Zoom G1 Pedal
Cort M600
When you say lock, do you mean like it cramps up? If it's just 'locking' in place, then I have no idea. But if your muscles are contracting then it's a cramp. Either, your muscles are tired or you're not drinking enough water or consuming enough potassium and sodium.
muscle contraction is not cramp, cramp is caused by restricted blood flow to the muscles. my fingers lock up occasionally but i have a known physiological condition (none of your business), my fingers lock straight though, and tends to happen when i`m miles away from a guitar (irrelevant really).

go explain your problem to a doctor `cos any opinions expressed on here will only serve as scare mongering.
If you're talking about what I think you are, then it's completely normal. However, if your finger is locking up whilst actually playing the guitar, then you need to adjust your technique.
Speed is a by-product of shut the fuck up.
I've been playing for 5 years and that still happens to me. If I put my hand in a wierd chord position and change it sometimes my pinky will lock up.
I own an Ibanez J-Custom

I am Guitarnoob_100. Say hey

PSN: Whiski_Guy
Xbox Live: Chris2194

Steam: Galiathslay
Quote by Aleksi
If you're talking about what I think you are, then it's completely normal. However, if your finger is locking up whilst actually playing the guitar, then you need to adjust your technique.

It's not locking up like not moving, and it doesn't happen while i play guitar.