Could you guys suggest some songs which would help my sweeping, ap and basically get me used to playing fast consistently? Nothing blazingly fast, maybe something around 80-100bpm that uses these techniques?

I dont listen to a lot of metal, but I'm open to anything that works.

As for my skill level, I've been playing for about two years, and know a fair amount of theory. I usually stick to the blues and can improvise, but can't do anything with the above mentioned techniques. I have been practicing sweeping and can do the major/minor/diminished thing. I'm just looking for a track where I can put it all together.

If it helps at all to gauge my playing ability, there are mp3's in my profile, and most (if not all) are instrumentals on which I've improvised.
Quote by jpnyc
You are what they call a “rhythm guitarist”. While it's not as glamorous as playing lead you can still get laid. Especially if you can sing and play.

Beer is the solutions to the world's problems.

Quote by BKMC
Damn Ninja'd

Is that a band or a song?
Quote by jpnyc
You are what they call a “rhythm guitarist”. While it's not as glamorous as playing lead you can still get laid. Especially if you can sing and play.

practice, i know that sound cliche but after 2 years of playing i figure you must know that there really aren't any shortcuts. your double picking skills are a good place to start. to be truely fast you need to be able to pick cleanly and keep a steady pace.

i'll also mention this, not everyone is cut out to be a shredder. i tried for years and while i can burn a lick when i need to (see songs in profile) i just can't play a whole songs worth of nothing but blazing licks. your songs so far don't realy show any blazing licks but i thought what you did was pretty good in the styles you used.
The solo in Symphony of Destruction by Megadeth is a good start for shred.

Also check out the Speed Kills DVD's. Michael Angelo Batio's lessons are quite helpful.

Quote by monwobobbo