Hello there!

I have been playing electric guitar for round about 4 years now and i know absolutely nothing about amps. I am currently playing lead guitar in a band and all I own is a Yamaha 15w amp (Not TOO bad for a practice amp).

I have about £300 to spend and I am willing to go used. I play a lot of classic rock (GNR) blues (Hendrix), standard rock (Foo Fighters, Audioslave ect.) RATM (Really do not know what to class that as and a little bit of metal (Metallica, Iron Maiden ect.)

I need something loud enough for gigs in front of about 200 - 300 people. We have done gigs like these before but I have had to borrow an amp every time which is a pain in the backside! If it helps I own a Fender Classic Player 50's Strat (Plays like a Dream!) and a Digitech RP350 (I know, don't laugh My band does a lot of covers and it is a lot easier to save patches on that instead of having to ratchet everything back and forth to get the correct sound for each song) Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
Quote by Jason
Ancient scrolls predict that when Fred Durst and Lil Wayne perform a guitar duet while touching the tips of their penises together, the gates of hell will open and swallow us all.

Hehe.

Are you looking for tube or solid state? (Pleasesaytubepleasesaytubepleasesaytube) Or actually if you "know nothing about amps" as you say do you know about the differences between solid-state and tube amplifiers?
yea...i would read up on tube vs. solid state amps. you'll want tube though.

i'm probably going to catch some crap for this...but maybe try to pick up a used fender hot rod deville (may be a little more than your budget though, even used). it wouldn't be a bad first tube amp. when you ditch the rp350, you can throw a nice overdrive in front of the clean channel and still get some decent tones. it will handle the classic rock, blues, and as you say, "standard rock"genres well....and will suffice for the little bit of metal you play.