today i was told (by my doctor) that i have a fine motor problem with muscles in my hand. he commented on why my writing and drawing looks like that of an 10 year olds.

anyway ive been playing guitar for about 7 years and im struggling to improve past mediocre techniques (with teachers and constant practice). I mentioned this to my doctor and he replied something along the lines of 'you will probably never have decent technical skills on guitar'. which almost crushed me.

just wondering how many people have dealt with fine motor problems. has anyone managed to develop decent technical skills? what would you suggest as methods of combating this?

many thanks!
I think I may have this problem. I write like a retarded child whose hand's been under a monster truck, no matter how much practice I got. Similarly, I've tried to practice certain techniques like sweep picking for hours and hours on end, with no visible improvement after I reach a certain level. I've just come to the conclusion that I'll never be an "epic" guitar player, but it's not really all that much of a problem for me considering that I don't listen to much virtuoso music, and I much prefer using a guitar to get interesting sounds and textures out of rather than soloing my heart out.
YOU WILL LOVE EACH OTHER
YOU WILL LOVE EACH OTHER
YOU WILL LOVE EACH OTHER
YOU WILL LOVE EACH OTHER
YOU WILL LOVE EACH OTHER
YOU WILL LOVE EACH OTHER
YOU WILL LOVE EACH OTHER
//////////////////////////////////////HEALTH
ive never had it officially diagnosed, but my handwriting looks like that of a 10 year old (ive tried many different times and in many different ways, but ive had no improvement since i was 7), and i cant draw anything to save my life. but ive gotten pretty good at guitar in the 2.5 years ive been playing.
Geets:
Ibanez GSA60
Epiphone SG/LP custom
Schecter Damien elite 7
Fender Highway one Telecaster

Pedals:
Visual sound Jekyll and Hyde

Amp:
Peavey 6505
Marshall M412a cab
Peavey Classic 50

GO STEELERS!