I've done carbon and other materials layups for aerospace parts for years. It's beautiful and fairly well bulletproof if done right, and I can do it right. But since I'm just getting started with this other line, I'm going to offer the first couple close to cost, and ask the purchasers to report back here their honest opinion.

SO. Take a look at Stewmac, Guitar Parts Resource etc., and see what fancy pick guard material, such as tortise, pre-cut or not goes for. If you've seen carbon fiber stuff, you know how good it looks. If you haven't, don't let me sell you on it, ask someone who has. Pictures can't do it justice because the grain appears to float below the surface, almost like a hologram. I will make and sell a couple of guards or material for about what you could buy plastic for. Say, $40 for a Tele, $50 for a Strat, $30 for a Les Paul or for a piece of material for you to cut yourself. The first run is silver Texalium, an aluminum impregnated e-glass fiber with the same chacrateristics as carbon except the color. If you want me to cut it, you'll need to send me yours so I can match it, all cut to size, drilled, etc. The material is aerospace grade fiber weave, laminated onto a substrate (can vary; I favor aircraft ply), top side finished with wet sanding, polyurethane, more sanding/polishing, more poly, until *I* am happy, and I'm fussy about this stuff. Edges are beveled and finished. Later, the price will go up, no more than about 50% of the above. Oh, laminations are done by hand using aerospace grade clear drying, no blush epoxy. Between the cost of this stuff and the cloth, trust me the pries above are materials cost, and nothing for the work.