Hi,

I have a Peavey Rockmaster tube preamp for early 90s. Currently using it on a Marshall Valvestate fx loop. What's the best way to run this? I'm looking into power amps, but it's pricey.

Does anyone have any thoughts on what's the best solid state amp to run tube preamps?

Thanks.
The Crate Powerblock can be found really cheap and will do the simple SS power amp thing well.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
I was going to run a Mesa/Boogie Studio Preamp with a SS power amp once, then I decided that it was a bad idea.
"In modern music, a lot of people are really stuck on the example, asif it were the idea. It takes millions of examples to articulate an idea, so don't get stuck on the f*cking example." - Joshua Homme, 2008.
Go from the 1 volt pre-amp out on the Peavey into the effects return on the Marshall.
You might wanna use a tube poweramp instead. Most SS poweramps won't be better than your Valvestate's poweramp.
Gear:
- Bugera 333
- VJ & VJ cab
- Jackson JS30
- TS9

Bugera Users Militia. We are horrible people. With a sprinkler fetish.
~ BUM: For all things extinguishing

Rackmount Tube Amp Project <<< Updates!
Nothing in the send? I have had it send/return so far. I tried your suggestion - it's a more cutting, brighter tone.

Would the tone be radically different if I went into a tube combo, such as a Laney AOR instead of the Marshall?

Quote by 667
Go from the 1 volt pre-amp out on the Peavey into the effects return on the Marshall.
Quote by Nostoi
Nothing in the send? I have had it send/return so far. I tried your suggestion - it's a more cutting, brighter tone.

Would the tone be radically different if I went into a tube combo, such as a Laney AOR instead of the Marshall?

Maybe not RADICALLY different, but you'll get tube break-up and stuff, so it'll certainly sound different.