So, currently all I have to record with is a Snowball usb mic.

I plan to get a Shure SM57 as soon as I reasonably can however, to record guitars/bass with.

I was wondering though...
1. What would be a good condenser mic with which to record acoustic guitars and vocals? Or can I use the SM57 for this?
2. What about computer interfaces? The E-MU0404 has been recommended to me, and it seems good to me...
3. Finally, what would be a good, cheap [preferably free or downloadable ] program to program drums/keyboards/piano/strings with? Currently all I got is FL Studio...

Do bear in mind I'm a poor college student, and want to keep the price of all this very reasonable. The SM57 is about as high as I'll go for mic price, and such...

EDIT: Oh, and the program I plan to use to record/mix/master with is Reaper.

Thanks in advance! xD
Quote by MoogleRancha
It's like Fenriz and J. Read

"I'm so happy to love metal and stuff"

"I AM metal"
Last edited by Burning_Angel at Sep 5, 2010,
3. you can program in tuxguitar, which is a free version of guitar pro and lets you export midi files that you can use in reaper. you can also just program it in reaper's midi editor, thats usually what i do now. keep in mind though, you'll need the actual plugins too, such as ezdrummer or whatever you want to use, because reaper doesnt have much as far as virtual instruments go
periphery/bulb!

gear:
Ibanez RG7321 w/ D-sonic in bridge

Peavey 5150 mk ii & b52 4x12 cab

line 6 podxt for recording

Quote by AsOneIStand
Head and Cab for $130? You don't need a head and cabinet, you need a psychological examination.
You can't record bass with a mic. You have to plug it in a DI. ^^,
C4C
Please check out some of my original music and leave me a comment @ SoundCloud
(or in my profile!)

Progressive|Thrash|Math|Metal
Well, you can, it's just not as good. Seeing as I don't own a bass, currently, I just record it on guitar and then shift it down an octave in Audacity/Reaper/whatever.