Hello,

I apologize of this is in the wrong place, as I wasn't sure where to post my... post.
Anyhow, I'm a guitarist/bassist who'd like to try composing/recording some classical orchestra-style music, however I'm not exactly sure where to start (hardware-wise). I've got an iMac with Garage Band and some Garritan Orchestra plugins (that I'm kinda learning how to use). I'm assuming I need a keyboard/synth of some sort. If that's the case, can anyone recommend me a good starter setup? Or perhaps some advice on what I would need in general?

Thanks very much in advance for any help!
For hardware? Pen and paper is easily the best.

If you really want the midi in front of you as you go, I guess finale or sibelius.

Edit : unless you are just trying to make that "epic" sound that's always in trailers and stuff. Then just stab chords i - V in their inversions on strings and choir with lots of timpani.
Don't tell me what can not be done

Don't tell me what can be done, either.

I love you all no matter what.
Last edited by nightwind at Sep 7, 2010,
You don't need a snyth set-up at all. All you need is a program called Guitar Pro. Use the diagram of the guitar neck to pick your notes and the rest is up to you. After you're finished compsosing the song, export the midi and convert it to an mp3. It's SO much less cheaper then a synthisier which usually (if you want the most sound potential) will put a couple grand whole in your pocket. If you want to save money and still make quality Symphony music just use guitar pro. There are SO many different instruments to choose from. To get an idea of what you can make check out my profile. Both songs on my profile I made using the same steps I just told you of.
Everything is divisible by metal- Michael Angel Batio
I think Mozart could compose so well because he could transfer his ideas and musical thoughts on to paper so easily. It isn't because he had Notepad or GuitarPro that could create sounds in front of him to guess and check.