I've been mainly using: about.com and I'm around lesson 5. Do you think it's descriptive enough or would you recommend something else?

I also go around on Songsterr to find out tabs and of course use Youtube whenever I'm curious about something and now that I've found this site, I've been checking out all the stickies and such.
I read a shitload of Guitar World columns, learned techniques from songs, and learned music theory from high school music class, then proceeded to go to libraries and self-educate on the topic.

It's really not that hard to just go to a library and read books.
Q: Favourite Pink Floyd song?
A: The one where they get wicked high and play Emin and A for an hour.
My technique is self taught, but my knowledge of music is not. I had already been a musician for years before I started playing guitar.

I do regret not taking lessons. I feel like I have a few bad habits that hold me back.

Thats the benefit of lessons, having someone who knows what their doing to point out bad technique before it becomes a bad habit.
"Swords, nature's hell sticks."- Trip Fisk
I'm not saying it's the best way by all means, but I learnt by finding tabs of the songs I like and learning to play bits here and there. And after a while I moved on to more complicated stuff and so on. I did try the lessons around the internet and in books and such, but I found it was more enjoyable to find my own way round. I highly recommend finding some warm up excercises to practice constantly. I wish I had done that at first to increase my finger speed, dexterity and picking speed, I probably would have progressed far quicker. Oh, and youtube lessons, it helps when you can see how someone else plays it so you have a rough idea or a guidline for what you do yourself.

Just saying that's how I found easiest, trying to be all organised and proper about it isn't always the best way.
i really learned all i know from UG.
thanks dudes

o , i also got the Speed kills videos