I've been playing for about 5 years now, and I still think I totally suck! Starting over has been in my mind for a while, and I think it would be the best decision. I was thinking of keeping it mostly exercises, with learning maybe a new song a week. Do you guys have any ideas on how to go on about this? I was thinking this

What I've noticed is that I'm completely god awful at doing quick bend leads, for example, the first solo in The Trooper. I can't do the second part of it where he bends and switches strings so fast, yet I can sweep moderately well. I feel like I skipped a whole part of learning guitar, simple basics like that.

Here's the plan: Play up and down the modes in different keys for 15 minutes, starting at 80 bpm, starting over everytime I mess up. and go up 5 every two days in order to gain complete muscle control. Do the same for basic arpeggios for superior accuracy. I will be doing this every day.

I will also be learning a new solo a week. Classic rock isn't really my style, but the solo's incorporate many bends and quick string switching, which I'm bad at. I've already learned Another Brick in the Wall's solo, and I can play it pretty clean now.

What do you guys think about this whole idea? What are some other solo's that would get me to where I need to be?
Last edited by llanafreak44 at Sep 8, 2010,
What you are saying is basically just coming across to me that you want to practice more......which is what i would do if i were in your situation. You shouldn't start over as such but just keep practicing ...thats what i do when i can't nail something.

Practice is the key.

On the subject of solos you should learn, i would help you but i don't know if you are into the music i am. But i shall suggest learning some of the Fade to Black solo by Metallica seeing as you have to do some quick bends then have to change to a different string to pull of and then yet again back to another one!

So give that a shot

Hope i helped
My Gear