Hi all,

I've been playing guitar for over 6 years and am not near where I want to be because I've never stuck to a practice schedule. I've made up schedules and goals for myself and haven't stuck with them. I really enjoy playing when I'm doing it, but making myself sit down to a practice session is difficult sometimes, especially now that I'm in college part-time, working 2 jobs, have friends and various extra-curricular activities. Because I'm rather busy I'm generally exhausted all the time but I'm determined to practice at least an hour a day (preferably two) because a) I'm not much of a fan of sleeping. b) I have long-term goals I'm passionate about, such as forming a group with other musicians, recording my own songs on my computer and possibly teaching lessons someday. c) I can't imagine myself not playing music in some form.

So if anyone has any wisdom or tips for me (I was thinking of keeping a notebook/diary thing of what and how much I practice everyday maybe? I dunno...) I'd appreciate it
Play the music, not the instrument. ~Author Unknown

blackzeppelion
Who's the band that could become the next led zeppelin?
Ovenman
Iron blimp.
J.A.M
Aluminum helicopter.
Ovenman
*Breaks out periodic table* Magnesium bi-plane.
What works for me:

1.) Learn to start liking sleep, and get more of it. More sleep = more energy, focus, and enthusiasm for whatever you're doing during the day. I don't always get as much sleep as I should, and I find that I frequently am too tired to focus on guitar, or play for more than 10 minutes or so.

2.) I'm not much of one for practicing scales and such. My "practicing" is a combination of playing through songs I already know, trying to learn songs I don't know, and writing new riffs/songs. That keeps it entertaining for me.