So I'm 14 and having some band problems that need to be sorted out and needed some insight.

I'm the guitarist, singer and songwriter in a punk rock trio with a drummer who's a long time friend of mine, and a bassist/singer/songwirter who we have a strange relationship with. We're all friends from middle school and we're a year into the band, but our bassist is an absolute bitch. I could write you an essay about why but I'll save you the time and give you the bottom line.

1. He's given a lot to the band musically, it's our personal relationship that's the problem
2. He's uptight in a teen-age punk band.... we want to **** around and maybe make some music and he wants to get shit done all the time he's no fun, he makes band time boring
3. He has made allusions that he wants to find another bassist and play lead guitar because "bass sucks I'm a guitarist" <----- This will never happen as I believe punk should never have two guitarists, you barley need one

So should we work through our differences or is this irreconcilable?

And how hard is it to find someone who can play some kick-ass bass and like it? He's not bad at bass but he doesn't take it seriously as he only practices guitar and I write all the basslines, but I don't want to be in a band with a bassist who wants to play guitar.
Easy, talk to him about it. If he doesn't want to work something out find someone else
There's a number of issues in your situation, I'll go through them in turn.

Quote by TheWEBBY
2. He's uptight in a teen-age punk band.... we want to **** around and maybe make some music and he wants to get shit done all the time he's no fun, he makes band time boring

I have no idea what you're talking about here. If you're talking about him wanting to use practice time effectively and work on songs bit-by-bit, whilst you and the drummer want to jam between every song, I'm on his side.