Well i've been reading up on my favourite artists eg, Mark Tremonti, Synyster Gates, John Petrucci, Michael Paget) and looking at their Fx. Then i noticed they have ground control systems. So what im wondering is do they put all their stomp boxes in a rack with different pre-sets or something? I just need someone to explain how it all works.. I'm new to the world of effects and have little knowledge!

Dan
Gear:

Ibanez RG350M
Peavey 6505+112

Boss CS-1
EHX Big Muff Pi
EHX Small Clone
KORG Pitchblack
Last edited by Dannnn_xD at Sep 9, 2010,
the way they control their stompboxes like that, is they'll have a switching system. what the system does is it has lots of effects loop and you put an effect in each of them. so then you can turn on any choice of loops at any given time on the floorboard, which controls the system through midi. so when you change your effects with that floorboard and you can do it with multiple effects, you're not actually turning on the effects, just activating the loops that those pedals are in.
periphery/bulb!

gear:
Ibanez RG7321 w/ D-sonic in bridge

Peavey 5150 mk ii & b52 4x12 cab

line 6 podxt for recording

Quote by AsOneIStand
Head and Cab for $130? You don't need a head and cabinet, you need a psychological examination.
so they assign multiple stompboxes to a single button? eg 4 buttons
1: delay + flanger
2: chorus + reverb
3: overdrive + delay
4: compressor + eq

Like that?
Gear:

Ibanez RG350M
Peavey 6505+112

Boss CS-1
EHX Big Muff Pi
EHX Small Clone
KORG Pitchblack
Quote by Dannnn_xD
so they assign multiple stompboxes to a single button? eg 4 buttons
1: delay + flanger
2: chorus + reverb
3: overdrive + delay
4: compressor + eq

Like that?

Exactly!
Often they'll have rack multi-fx's too.
Ah thanks i understand now!
Gear:

Ibanez RG350M
Peavey 6505+112

Boss CS-1
EHX Big Muff Pi
EHX Small Clone
KORG Pitchblack