Hey guys. I'm at my wit's end with this, I've been playing for a few years now and been stuck at around the same picking speed for the last year, and I've been practicing my ass off. I do strict alternate picking and can't get past 120 bpm sixteenth notes (with string changes and such) no matter how slow I take it, so I'm pretty sure there's something fundamentally wrong with my technique.

Take a look at some of these pics if you could and let me know. Comparing myself to some of my idols, the biggest difference I notice is my wrist angle...

When I play, my entire forearm rests on top of the guitar, and I keep the side of my palm against the strings to mute them. This works well enough for playing the bottom couple of strings (see final pic), but then when I want to reach the top strings I have to bend my wrist down to reach.

Just how much of my right arm should be touching the guitar? I don't anchor with my fingers, but I keep my wrist in the same place and just bend it when I move from bottom to top strings, is that also anchoring?

Also, I find that I experience some pain in my forearm from trem picking over sixteenths at 160 bpm after about 30 seconds. Not sure if it's related.

Thanks for any help! Sorry if the pictures are huge...

You will bow at my feet or I'll rip out your knees

and make of your face all the carnage you crave
Try picking from your knuckle joint instead of your wrist. There is less movement when you use smaller joints which should lead to faster picking.
I play guitar.
Not only do I agree with trying with the knuckle joints, but I would like to add that you shouldn't be afraid to move the rest of your forearm to help make reaching the higher strings easier. Judging from what you said and what I can tell from the pictures, you seem to rely on your wrist to hit the notes and get the speed you are searching for. It might be better to not use primarily your wrist but utilize your entire forearm. You might get some better results that way.