Page 1 of 2
Hey guys, I'm a college student and I've become interested in purchasing an electric guitar. I want to buy it just to mess around with it, I don't intend to go pro or or join a band or anything. Mainly just to give me something to do other than sit on the computer all day.

I want something that isn't too expensive but not too cheap either and I was hoping to get a few recommendations as to what kind of guitar/amp I should look into for my needs.

Thanks!
Well, my budget (ideally) would be under $500 for the guitar/amp + anything else I might need. I'd also rather buy new than used, I don't like buying used stuff. Well, err, as for genre, guess rock would qualify closest.
I'd say an Epiphone SG or Les Paul of some sort, and maybe a Peavey Vypyr. That'd give you about $100 for cables and strings and all that good stuff.
Kodiak bears make awesome bandmates.

Quote by wolvenrick
no seriously 7x NGD is epicness i declare you the winner of all NGD's on UG never have i seen this xD
Well, again, I'd rather buy new, but if a used amp means I can spend more on a better guitar, well then, I'm open to suggestions.
buying amps new is waaay more expensive, buy a used one. Amps dont break easily and are most of the time cheap to repair.
Quote by guusw
buying amps new is waaay more expensive, buy a used one. Amps dont break easily and are most of the time cheap to repair.

Amps are never cheap to repair.
Jackson DK2M
ESP LTD M-200FM w/Tone Zone + PAF Pro
Ibanez RG7321
Digitech Whammy IV
Digitech GSP1101
Furman M-10 LxE
Peavey 6505
ISP Decimator
Well guitar wise, I've found a les paul 100 for 175$. I found a epi lp standard plus for 350$

Amp: Marshall AVT 20 for 150$

EDIT: I've found a bunch of epi lp 100's for cheaper which may be good for you. I'll keep looking.
Last edited by salgala2000 at Sep 9, 2010,