Ok, heres the dope,
I've been playing guitar for three years and just made it into a band as a rythmn guitarist. I have everything I need to play live, except the volume IE a big enough amplifier. The biggest thing I have is a 15 watt tube fender super champ. Question 1-Can I buy just a cabinet and hook the superchamp up to the 4x12, or do I HAVE to buy a cabinet and a head? If I do have to buy a cabinet and a head, whats the biggest bang for my buck? I can spend around 600. Should I go new? or get something of better quality used. What are my options? Any and all help is appreciated here!
I doubt you you could power a 4x12 with a 15 watt combo. What is your budget for new gear?

EDIT: Sorry, did not see you mention the price!
Quote by beadhangingOne
Are you talking about those weird sphincter-spasms where it feels like there's a ghost dick in your ass for a little while and then it just disappears?
Last edited by Crazed Shredder at Sep 9, 2010,
600 what? What country are you in.

Cabinets will not make you any louder, they will just disperse your sound better/over a larger area.

You should never go new, unless there is something you very specifically want and you cannot find it used.

You have many options with a budget that big, but 90% of them can be the completely wrong options for you if we don't know what styles/genres you play.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Well, they could always just mic your fender. But if you want a cab, you'd be better off buying a head for it. Peavey windsors have the volume, but I'm not too crazy about the tone. The head runs 399$. Peavey valvekings aren't bad they run about 549$. Just depends on how you like the sound. Remember, volume ALWAYS comes second. It won't matter if your tone sucks. Tone always comes first.